About Us

with Pas de commentaire


Hub Location: Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire
Contact: Dr. Yed Angoran (aye@emu-ci.org)
01 BP 1282 Abidjan 01
Email: aye@emu-ci.org


Since late fifties and early sixties, most African countries have become independent from colonial rulers. Whilst the former British colonies and most Anglophone countries were developing within the Commonwealth organization, most former French colonies and Francophone countries have so far been sharing a common currency (F CFA) tied to the French Franc (now to the Euro) on a fixed parity. The lusophone countries have become also independent after many conflicts. African countries have witnessed times of economic development and times of economic crises, times of peaceful progress and times of horrible wars;The last five decades were the stage for many revolutionary and independence movements in the African continent. It was a time of civil war in many countries; in others, a time of profound economic development. The continent also has witnessed suffered from pandemics of AIDS, Malaria, and Ebola, leading to intense periods of famine, impoverishment and healthcare crises. The Methodist church has provided in most countries a holistic approach to social, cultural and economic development. Education is the key to addressing these challenges and growing in prosperity.

The General Board of Higher Education and Ministry (GBHEM) is working in Africa to create a framework for global education that puts African countries in contact with partners in other African areas, as well as in Europe, Latin America, Asia, and North America. Regional association of African educational institutions include the Africa Association of United Methodist-related Theological Institutions (AAUMTI) and the Africa Association of Methodist Institutions of Higher Education (AAMIHE).


Theological Schools


West Africa
  • Cameroon: Faculté deThéologie Protestante, Yaoundé
  • Côte d’Ivoire: Institute Supérieur de Théologie d’Abaidjajin-Doumé
  • Ghana: Trinity Theological Seminary
  • Liberia: Gbarnga School of Theology
  • Nigeria: Banyam Theological College, Jos Seminary, Immanuel College, Methodist Theological College in Sagamu, Methodist Theological College in Umuahia, Hassan Odukale Theological School
  • Sierra Leone: Theological Hall and Church Center


East Africa

  • Burundi: Ecumenical Catholic University
  • Democratic Republic of Congo: Likasi and Mulungwishi Theological School, Kabongo Theological School, Kamina Theological School, Wembo-Nyama Theology School
  • Kenya: Bethany Christian College, St.Paul’s United Theological College, Kenya Methodist University
  • Rwanda: Gisenyi Bible College
  • Tanzania: Musoma Theological College
  • Uganda: Alpha and Omega, Makerere University, and Namilyango College
  • Southern and Central Africa
  • Angola: Emilio de Carvalho Seminary, Emanuel Unido Seminary
  • Mozambique: Ricatla Ecumenical Center and Cambine Theological School
  • Zimbabwe: Faculty of Theology at Africa University


Colleges & Universities


West Africa

  • Ghana: Methodist University College Ghana
  • Côte d’Ivoire: Université Méthodiste de Côte d’Ivoire
  • Liberia: Methodist University of Liberia
  • Nigeria: Wesley University of Science and Technology
  • Sierra Leone: United Methodist University (in progress)


East Africa

  • Democratic Republic of Congo: Kamina Methodist University, Katanga Methodist University, Wembo-Nyama Methodist University, Kabongo Methodist University
  • Uganda: The United Methodist Bible College
  • Southern and Central Africa
  • Angola: Methodist University of Angola
  • Mozambique: Methodist University of Mozambique (in progress)
  • Tanzania: Methodist University (in progress)
  • Zambia: Methodist Center
  • Zimbabwe: Nyadire Teachers’ College, Africa University